Scholarships and Grants


Scholarship awards are given to students enrolled in graduate programs in school librarianship or instructional technology, or in school library certification programs. Please see application instructions for more information.
Due – December 15


Friend of School Libraries Award

The Friend of School Libraries Award is granted to individuals or agencies who have provided sustained or exemplary service to library media services in Missouri.
Due – December 15


MASL Special Service Award

The Special Service Award is a citation awarded to a MASL member who has rendered significant service to MASL and/or school libraries.
Due – December 15


MASL Service Award for School Administrators

The MASL Service Award for School Administrators recognizes a school administrator who has made a significant contribution toward furthering the role of the school library media center.
Due – December 15


Bright Idea Award

The Bright Idea Award honors a MASL member who has initiated innovative ideas for a school library media program.
Due – December 15


TLC (Teacher/Librarian Collaboration) Award
The Teacher/Librarian Collaboration Award honors a teacher and librarian who have exhibited excellence in working collaboratively.
Due – December 15

First Spring Conference Opportunity Grant
Never been to a MASL Spring Conference?  Interested in going?  Concerned about the cost?  Apply for a grant to cover the cost of your registration!
Due — December 15


Lynne Stype Empowerment Grant

This grant recognizes Lynne Stype’s devotion to service as well as her interest in professional development for both herself and others.

Due – December 15


Intellectual Freedom Award

The Intellectual Freedom Award is presented to an individual or group who has supported intellectual freedom in school libraries.
Due – December 15


Outstanding School Library Program of the Year Award

MASL has a NEW Award to recognize an outstanding school library program.  This award honors an exemplary program demonstrating strength in the areas of Foundations, Building the Learning Environment, Teaching and Learning, Building Collaborative Partnerships, Advocacy and Outreach, and Leadership, and is modeled after the AASL National School Library Program of the Year Award   Winners will receive a $2,500 grant for books from Gumdrop Books.
Due – December 15

2018 Inaugural Winner – Heather Hufstedler, West Plains Middle School; West Plains R-7


Application/Nomination Process

ALL applications and nominations are to be submitted online either using the specific form for each award/grant linked above (instructions for submitting supplemental documentation are included) or by submitting this general grants and awards nomination form.

If the general form is submitted, the MASL Office will follow up with you and/or the nominee for additional information specific to the award or grant.

For additional information or assistance, please contact the MASL office at (573) 893-4155 or via e-mail.