MASL Leadership

The MASL Board of Directors is comprised of officers, committee chairs, region directors, and other representatives.

MASL Governing Documents and the MASL Board of Directors Policies and Procedures include more information on Board composition, roles and responsibilities, and selection. The Annual Reports for the 2019-2020 year submitted by members of the MASL Board of Directors.  Board members submit annual reports in May of each year.


These officers comprise the MASL Executive Committee.

President – Kris Baughman, Eastwood Hills Elementary, Raytown C-2 School District

First Vice-President Melissa Corey, Robidoux Middle School, St. Joseph School District

Second Vice-President – Tom Bober, Ralph M. Captain Elementary, School District of Clayton

Secretary – Jenn Baldwin, Jasper R-5 School District

Treasurer – Becky Haynes, Cassville Middle School, Cassville R-IV School District

Past-President –Kirsten Shaw, Martin Warren Elementary, Warrensburg School District

AASL Delegate – Matt King, Discovery Elementary, Orchard Farm School District

Updated 6.29.21


MASL’s Committee Chairs each serve on the Board.

Region Directors

Each Region’s Director/President serves on the Board.

Other Representatives

DESE Representative

Lisa ScroggsAssistant Director of English Language Arts, Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

The MO DESE Representative serves as a liaison between MASL and the MO Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. This seat provides the Association with information about current issues relating to education, libraries and librarians. In addition, this seat offers suggestions on member recruitment, education and retention through various resources in the state agency. The MO DESE representative holds non-voting seat on the Board.

MO State Library Representative

Lysha ThompsonState Librarian, Missouri State Library

The Missouri State Librarian, or a representative appointed by the State Librarian, serves as a liaison between MASL and the State Library. This seat offers current library policy and procedure updates to the Association. The Missouri State Librarian or appointed representative holds a non-voting seat on the Board.

Epsilon Beta

Jill Williams, McDonald County High School, McDonald County R-1

Epsilon Beta is a club for high school students interested in the library. Its official name is Episcpoi Tes Bibliothekes, “Keepers of the Library”. State officers are elected at the annual meeting in the spring. They are: president, vice president, secretary, treasurer and historian. Epsilon Beta is sponsored by the Missouri Association of School Librarians, which helps coordinate Epsilon Beta activities through a director, appointed annually.

Additional Information

Past Presidents List