2019-2020 MASL Readers Awards Preliminary Nominees

The preliminary nominees for MASL’s 2019-2020 Readers Awards are listed below.

Congratulations to all authors, illustrators and publishers!

These titles will be narrowed into a Final List of nominees that will be released in December 2018.

The Final List will then be voted upon by students in March of 2020; the recipients of the awards will be announced at the 2020 MASL Spring Conference.

Gateway (Grades 9-12)

Title Author Publisher
A List of Cages Robin Roe Disney-Hyperion
A Short History of the Girl Next Door Jared Reck Knopf Books for Young Readers
Bang Barry Lyga Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Dear Martin Nic Stone Crown Books for Young Readers
Defy the Stars Claudia Gray Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Dreamland Burning Jennifer Latham Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Eliza and Her Monsters Francesca Zappia Greenwillow Books
Far From the Tree Robin Benway HarperTeen
Goodbye Days: A Novel Jeff Zentner Ember
Invictus Ryan Graudin Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Long Way Down Jason Reynolds Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Moxie Jennifer Mathieu Roaring Brook Press
Nyxia Scott Reintgen Crown Books for Young Readers
Obsessed: A Memoir of My Life With OCD Allison Britz Simon Pulse
One of Us is Lying Karen M McManus Delacorte Press
Ramona Blue Julie Murphy Balzer + Bray
Soldier Boy Keely Hutton Square Fish
Strange the Dreamer Laini Taylor Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
The Hate U Give Angie Thomas Balzer + Bray
The Names They Gave Us Emery Lord Bloomsbury YA
The Wendy Project Melissa Jane Osbourne & Veronica Fish Super Genius
There’s Someone Inside Your House Stephanie Perkins Dutton Books for Young Readers
Want Cindy Pon Simon Pulse
When Dimple Met Rishi Sanhya Menon Simon Pulse
Wonder Woman Warbringer Leigh Bardugo Random House Books for Young Readers

Truman (Grades 6-8)

Title Author Publisher
Click’d Tamara Ireland Stone Disney-Hyperion
Forever, or a Long, Long Time Caela Carter HarperCollins
Forget Me Not Ellie Terry Square Fish
Greetings from Witness Protection Jake Burt Feiwel & Friends
Hideout Watt Key Square Fish
Long Way Down Jason Reynolds Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Lost Boys Darcey Rosenblatt Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Miles Morales: Spider-Man Jason Reynolds Marvel Press
Piecing Me Together Renee Watson Bloomsbury YA
Refugee Alan Gratz Scholastic Press
Renegades Marissa Meyer Feiwel & Friends
Restart Gordon Korman Scholastic Press
Rosemarked Livia Blackburne Disney-Hyperion
Saturdays with Hitchcock Ellen Wittlinger Charlesbridge
Super Max and the Mystery of Thornwood’s Revenge Susan Vaught Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
The Dark Intercept Julia Keller Tor Teen
The Enemy: Detroit 1954 Sara Holbrook Calkins Creek
The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora Pablo Cartaya Puffin Books
The Trail Meika Hashimoto Scholastic Press
To Catch a Killer Sheryl Scarborough Tor Teen
What Waits in the Water Kieran Scott Scholastic Press

Mark Twain (Grades 4-6)

Title Author Publisher
Almost Paradise Corabel Shofner Macmillan
Blooming at the Texas Sunrise Motel Kimberly Willis Holt Macmillan
Caleb and Kit Beth Vrabel Running Press
Genevieve’s War Patricia Reilly Giff Holiday House
Halfway Normal Barbara Dee Simon & Schuster
Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus Dusti Bowling Sterling Children’s
Joplin, Wishing Diane Stanley Harper Collins
Lily’s Mountain Hannah Moderow HMH Books for Young Readers
Mabel Opal Pear and the Rules for Spying Amanda Hosch Capstone
Mustaches for Maddie Shelly Brown & Chad Morris Shadow Mountain
One for Sorrow Mary Downing Hahn HMH Books for Young Readers
Real Friends Shannon Hale Macmillan
Restart Gordon Korman Scholastic
Ruby and Olivia Rachel Hawkins Penguin
Saving Marty Paul Griffin Penguin
Superstar Mandy Davis HarperCollins
The Harlem Charade Natasha Harpley Scholastic
The Loser’s Club Andrew Clements Penguin – Random House
The Peculiar Incident on Shady Street Lindsay Currie Simon & Schuster
The Unicorn in the Barn Jacqueline Ogburn HMH Books for Young Readers
The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street Karina Yan Glaser HMH Books for Young Readers
Tumble & Blue Cassie Beasley Penguin
Under Locker and Key Allison K Hymas Simon & Schuster
Walking with Miss Millie Tamara Bundy Penguin
Wishtree Katherine Applegate Feiwel & Friends

Show Me (Grades 1-3)

Title Author Illustrator Publisher
7 Ate 9 The Untold Story Tara Lazar Ross MacDonald Disney Books
After the Fall How Humpty Dumpty Got Back up Again Dan Santat Dan Santat Roaring Book Press
Be Quiet Ryan T. Higgins Ryan T. Higgins Disney Books
Big Cat, Little Cat Elisha Cooper Elisha Cooper Macmillan
Bob, Not Bob Liz Garton Scanlon & Audrey Vernick Matthew Cordell Disney Books
Bruce’s Big Move Ryan T. Higgins Ryan T. Higgins Disney
Charlotte The Scientist is Squished Camille Andros Brianne Farley Houghton Mifflin
Dad and the Dinosaur Gennifer Choldenko Dan Santat Penguin Random House
Dogosaurus Rex Anna Staniszewski Kevin Hawkes Henry Holt & Company
Goldenlocks and the Three Pirates April Jones Prince Steven Salerno Macmillan
Great Henry Hopendower (The) Justin Roberts Deborah Hocking Penguin Random House
Hair Pocalypse Geoff Herbach Stephen Gilpin Capstone Publishing
Hello Goodbye Dog Maria Gianferrari Patrice Barton Roaring Book Press
Kid Amazing vs. The Blob Josh Schneider Josh Schneider Houghton Mifflin
Lexie the Word Wrangler Rebecca Van Slyke Jessie Hartland Penguin Random House
Marigold Bakes a Cake Mike Malbrough Mike Malbrough Penguin Random House
Philomena’s New Glasses Brenna Maloney Brenna Maloney Viking
Prudence the Part-Time Cow Jody Jensen Shaffer Stephanie Laberis Macmillan
Shawn Loves Sharks Curtis Manley Tracy Subisak Macmillan
Snow Beast Comes to Play Phil Gosier Phil Gosier Roaring Book Press
Stay:  A Girl, A Dog, A Bucket LIst Kate Klise M. Sarah Klise Feiwel and Friends
The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors Drew Daywalt Adam Rex Harper Collins
Tyrannosaurus Rex Vs. Edna The Very First Chicken Douglas Rees Jed Henry Macmillan
We’re All Wonders R.J. Palacio R. J. Palacio Alfred A. Knopf
XO, OX  A Love Story Adam Rex Scott Campbell Macmillan

Downloadable list of all the 2019-2020 MASL RA Preliminary Nominees.