2019-2020 MASL Readers Awards Final Nominees

The final nominees for MASL’s 2019-2020 Readers Awards are listed below.

Congratulations to all authors, illustrators and publishers!

The titles on this Final List will be voted on by students in March of 2020, and the award recipients will be announced at the 2020 MASL Spring Conference.

Gateway (Grades 9-12)

Title Author Publisher
A List of Cages Robin Roe Disney-Hyperion
A Short History of the Girl Next Door Jared Reck Knopf Books for Young Readers
Dear Martin Nic Stone Crown Books for Young Readers
Defy the Stars Claudia Gray Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Dreamland Burning Jennifer Latham Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Eliza and Her Monsters Francesca Zappia Greenwillow Books
Far From the Tree Robin Benway HarperTeen
Goodbye Days: A Novel Jeff Zentner Ember
Invictus Ryan Graudin Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Moxie Jennifer Mathieu Roaring Brook Press
Nyxia Scott Reintgen Crown Books for Young Readers
One of Us is Lying Karen M McManus Delacorte Press
Soldier Boy Keely Hutton Square Fish
The Hate U Give Angie Thomas Balzer + Bray
The Names They Gave Us Emery Lord Bloomsbury YA

Truman (Grades 6-8)

Title Author Publisher
Click’d Tamara Ireland Stone Disney-Hyperion
Forget Me Not Ellie Terry Square Fish
Greetings from Witness Protection Jake Burt Feiwel & Friends
Hideout Watt Key Square Fish
Long Way Down Jason Reynolds Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Lost Boys Darcey Rosenblatt Henry Holt and Co.
Piecing Me Together Renee Watson Bloomsbury YA
Refugee Alan Gratz Scholastic Press
Renegades Marissa Meyer Feiwel & Friends
Rosemarked Livia Blackburne Disney-Hyperion
The Trail Meika Hashimoto Scholastic Press
To Catch a Killer Sheryl Scarborough Tor Teen

Mark Twain (Grades 4-6)

Title Author Publisher
Halfway Normal Barbara Dee Simon & Schuster
Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus Dusti Bowling Sterling Children’s
Joplin, Wishing Diane Stanley Harper Collins
Mustaches for Maddie Shelly Brown & Chad Morris Shadow Mountain
One for Sorrow Mary Downing Hahn HMH Books for Young Readers
Real Friends Shannon Hale Macmillan
Restart Gordon Korman Scholastic
Saving Marty Paul Griffin Penguin
The Loser’s Club Andrew Clements Penguin – Random House
The Peculiar Incident on Shady Street Lindsay Currie Simon & Schuster
Walking with Miss Millie Tamara Bundy Penguin
Wishtree Katherine Applegate Feiwel & Friends

Show Me (Grades 1-3)

Title Author Illustrator Publisher
After the Fall How Humpty Dumpty Got Back up Again Dan Santat Dan Santat Roaring Book Press
Be Quiet Ryan T. Higgins Ryan T. Higgins Disney Books
Bob, Not Bob Liz Garton Scanlon & Audrey Vernick Matthew Cordell Disney Books
Bruce’s Big Move Ryan T. Higgins Ryan T. Higgins Disney
Dogosaurus Rex Anna Staniszewski Kevin Hawkes Henry Holt & Company
Philomena’s New Glasses Brenna Maloney Brenna Maloney Viking
Prudence the Part-Time Cow Jody Jensen Shaffer Stephanie Laberis Macmillan
Shawn Loves Sharks Curtis Manley Tracy Subisak Macmillan
The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors Drew Daywalt Adam Rex Harper Collins
Tyrannosaurus Rex Vs. Edna The Very First Chicken Douglas Rees Jed Henry Macmillan


Downloadable list of all the 2019-2020 MASL Readers Awards Final Nominees