2018-2019 MASL Readers Awards Final Nominees

The final nominees for MASL’s 2018-2019 Readers Awards are listed below.  Congratulations to all authors, illustrators and publishers!  This Final List will be voted upon by students in March of 2019; the recipients of the awards will be announced at the 2019 MASL Spring Conference.

Gateway (Grades 9-12)

Title Author Publisher
Symptoms of Being Human Jeff Garvin Balzer + Bray
When We Collided Emery Lord Bloomsbury
The Serpent King Jeff Zentner Crown
Tell Me Three Things Julie Buxbaum Delacorte Press
The Sun is Also a Star Nicola Yoon Delacorte Press
Heartless Marissa Meyer Feiwel and Friends
Nemesis Anna Banks Feiwel and Friends
Amy Chelsea Stacie Dee Mary G Thompson GP Putnmans Sons
The Memory Book Lara Avery Hachette Book Group
My Lady Jane Cynthia Hand Harper Teen
Three Dark Crowns Kendare Blake Harper Teen
Holding Up the Universe Jennifer Niven Knopf Books
Salt to the Sea Ruta Sepetys Philomel Books
Scythe Neal Shusterman Simon & Schuster
All the Gallant Men Donald Stratton & Ken Gire William Morrow

Truman (Grades 6-8)

Title Author Publisher
Ruined Amy Tintera HarperTeen
The Girl I Used to Be April Henry Henry Holt and Company
Zero Day Jan Gangsei Hyperion
Mayday Karen Harrington Little, Brown, and Company
Lily & Dunkin Donna Gephart Penguin Random House
Hour of the Bees Lindsay Eagar Penguin Random House
Wolf Hollow Lauren Wolk Penguin Random House
Falling Over Sideways Jordan Sonnenblick Scholastic Press Inc.
Projekt 1065 Alan Gratz Scholastic Press Inc.
The Forgetting Sharon Cameron Scholastic Press Inc.
The Impostor Queen Sarah Fine Simon & Schuster
Things Too Huge to Fix by Saying Sorry Susan Vaught Simon & Schuster

Mark Twain (Grades 4-6)

Title Author Publisher
Framed! A T.O.A.S.T. Mystery James Ponti Aladdin
The Seventh Wish Kate Messner Bloomsbury
Moo Sharon Creech Harper Collins
Counting Thyme Melanie Conklin Penguin Random House
Maxi’s Secrets Lynn Plourde Penguin Random House
When Friendship Followed Me Home Paul Griffin Penguin Random House
Soar Joan Bauer Penguin Young Readers Group
Ghosts Raina Telgemeier Scholastic
Save Me a Seat Sarah Weeks & Gita Varadarajan Scholastic
Unbound Ann E Burg Scholastic
Ghost Jason Reynolds Simon & Schuster
Nine, Ten: A September 11th Story Nora Raleigh Baskin Simon & Schuster

Show Me (Grades 1-3)

Title Author Illustrator Publisher
Good Night, Bat! Good Morning Squirrel! Paul Meisel Same Boyds Mill Press
 A Bike Like Sergio’s Maribeth Boelts Noah Jones Candlewick Press
Quickest Kid in Clarksville Pat Zietlow Miller Frank Morrison Chronicle Books
The Water Princess Susan Verde & Georgie Badiel Peter Reynolds G P Putnam’s
The Magic Word Mac Barnett Elise Parsley Harper Collins
Who Wants a Tortoise Dave Keane K. G. Campbell Knopf Books for Young Readers
Madeline Finn and the Library Dog Lisa Papp same Peachtree Publishers
Seven and a Half Tons of Steel Janet Nolan Thomas Gonzalez Peachtree Publishers
Dear Dragon Josh Funk Rodolfo Montalvo Viking
Diana’s White House Garden Elisa Carbone Jen Hill Viking 

Downloadable list of the 2018-2019 Readers Awards Final Nominees.